PDA

View Full Version : please help sick discus

RoysDiscus
10-06-2013, 11:26 AM
Hi everyone I'm new to the fourm. I recently bought two pairs of discus . My tanks have been cycled for awhe now but my water is so bad here even adding triple the amount of prime won't help it. I put the fish in the tanks without noticing it and now they have clamped fins alot of mucus and hiding in the top and bottom corners. I read online this might be the discus plauge. I have now bought a RO zystem and have been using it with kent ro right and they look a little better but still not looking good at all. With the ro sys. My water is at ph 6.4 ammonia 0 nitrites 0 nitrates0. What can I do asap to save these fish?

rdiscus
10-06-2013, 11:42 AM
Need to fill out the Questions (http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?38545-Disease-Questionnaire-please-complete)

RoysDiscus
10-06-2013, 11:53 AM
Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?
I noticed a couple days ago when i did a big water change that my fish were breathing hard and tested my tap water.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds).
Clamped fins , excess mucus rubbing on everything hiding in corners top and bottom not eating

3. What medications/ treatments have you already tried and what were the results. Include dosage and duration of treatment.
no meds only ro water with kent ro right

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish.

2-29 gal, 2 in each 5-6"
5. Water change regime (What percentage and how often).
twice a day 50%

6. How long has tank been running? Is it bare bottom? If you have substrate, what type and how deep is it?
2 months bb