PDA

View Full Version : 60g planted discuss - what are my options?

Mr31415
10-07-2013, 07:27 PM
Hi,

I am new to discus, newish in fresh water but have been keeping reef aquariums for more than 7 years. I am therefore not new to the chemistry or mechanics of this hobby, but I am new to the particulars of freshwater planted / discus.

My current tank is a 60g Fluval (W x D x H): 85 x 48 x 65 cm (33 x 18.75 x 25.5 in). I am using RO/DI water that I remineralize with Seachem's Equilibrium for a target dKH of about 7GH. I also use Seachem's Alkaline bugger and Acid buffer to get KH up to about 5 and pH is at 6.5. I use CO2 injection 24/7 (will get a solenoid soon to change that only during the photoperiod). Temperature is 26.5C.

For fertilizer I use the PPS-Pro method and dose my fertilizer and Seachem Trace daily. I currently do 33% weekly water changes. Filtration is handled by an Eheim Professional 3 Electronic 2076 Canister Filter packed full of media. Substrate is EcoComplete - about 3" in the front and 4-6" at the back. Tank is heavily planted. See picture:

http://www.waldonell.com/image/0/reefphotos/_g0c6888.jpg

This tank has been up and running for about 3 weeks now. Last test done a couple of days ago had ammonia and nitrite at 0. I have not yet tested Nitrate.

The current stocking of the tank is:

1 x Corydora
2 x Siamensis algae eaters
4 x neon tetras (large)
6 x cardinal tetras
5 x glass catfish

I was hoping to finish my live stock list with some discus. However I have read that they need to be kept in groups of 5 or more. I am concerned about overstocking this tank. But I really like to have discus as the main focus of tank. Unfortunately I inherited some of the fish from another tank so I could not really start from a clean slate.

What are your thought about the possibility to keep discus with the current setup? And how many should I keep?

discuspaul
10-07-2013, 08:18 PM