PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone using the Python Aquarium Maintenance System to aid water changes?

Greg Adamson
10-17-2013, 07:42 PM
I'm new to Discus and I have learned that my newly arrived Discus prefer tap water to RO water so I wanted to get some feedback to see if there are very many people using the Python No Spill Clean and Fill Aquarium Maintenance System instead of a bunch of Home Depot 5 gallon buckets filled up the night before and then the traditional siphon to clear out the debris on the bottom of the tank. The concern is that the tap water goes directly into the tank without prior Declorinator which could be very toxic to 3" growing Discus and I don't want to do something completely stupid and kill my little clan of discus before they have a chance to grow up. (Also, my apologies as I would assume this question has come up before since this product is available on Amazon.com and it has probably been reviewed before.) If people have been using this device with success for a sustained period with no losses in fish I'd like to know about it. My breeder suggested that if I decided to use this system I put in the Declorinator directly into the aquarium immediately before I refill with tap water, not after. I won't use this device if it will pose a serious risk to the fish. Feedback is appreciated.

Tony C
10-17-2013, 07:49 PM
The quality of your tap water will play a major role in your decision. How does your water react to aging? If you see a significant pH shift then you are probably better off not using the python to refill, but if it is stable then you are probably ok. Is your water treated with chlorine or chloramine, and how much? Back in OR I used water straight from the tap and dechlorinated after filling, but here in SC the water is poor quality and I use remineralized RO exclusively.

sdrexler078
10-17-2013, 08:06 PM