PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Now - Lessons Learned

Second Hand Pat
10-22-2013, 11:42 AM
Hey guys, we have all walked this journey and most of us still are. Please share what you have learned; both success and failures. If you walked a slightly different path share that to. Personally I have walked a slightly different path and have had varying levels of success and I am still learning, experimenting, refining...basically learning what works for me.

troysdiiscus
10-22-2013, 11:56 AM
ah now we are talking, thanks Pat.
Ok I have been keeping fish since I was 18, mostly SA cichlids and still have some now. I started looking at Discus about a year ago and started to read bits and pieces of info. Well of coarse I said I can do this. So bought some from a lfs and thought they were beautiful. Not knowing that they were, poorly kept and stunted. Paid alot for these and stuck them in my planted tank,no QT just flopped them in there. Then wondered why they were not doing well. Did WC about 20% once a week and added all kinds of buffers, trace element etc. Needless to say I lost those fish in a week or so. I decided to Join this forum and do more detailed research and asked alot of questions. The advise I got was priceless. Me thinking I knew it all lost alot of inferior fish and gained a wealth of knowledge of what to buy and how to care of them the right way. So for those who think they know it all, like me, guess again. I am now raising fry though it was along road to succuss but with the people of this form, it was easier.
So a word to the wise of all newbie's and I am still one, if you think you know it all and dont want to listen to experienced people on here then you too can add your horry stories to this thread in the future because you will have some to tell. Let me save you alot of headache and money by telling you to pull down your ego and internet knowledge and LISTEN to those who can help.

William Palumbo
10-22-2013, 12:26 PM