PDA

View Full Version : San Merah X Snow Leopard

ryan walker
12-06-2013, 06:17 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to the forums

I have had some success with breeding red coats in the past so I have a bit of an idea on the whole process but I have had no experience in mixed breeding so I really have no idea what to expect from this pair I have had recently form.

One is a San merah and the other is a snow leopard so the 2 couldn't be any more different if they tried. If I'm to get fry from these 2 what would I expect to see?

Rod
12-07-2013, 07:15 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to the forums

I have had some success with breeding red coats in the past so I have a bit of an idea on the whole process but I have had no experience in mixed breeding so I really have no idea what to expect from this pair I have had recently form.

One is a San merah and the other is a snow leopard so the 2 couldn't be any more different if they tried. If I'm to get fry from these 2 what would I expect to see?

Hi Ryan, welcome to simply discus forums.

About half will be red/whites, probably with a fair amount of variation in the way the red is displayed. The white color (dominant gene) probably won't be the clean and clear white color of a snow leopard (which is really a selected and highly bred version of a white leopard) , rather they will probably display a certain amount of "pepper".

Without a photo i cannot be sure for your discus, but many snow leopards are also snakeskins (dominant gene), therefore it is possible you will get snakeskins from the pair.

The other half will be brown based. San merah are patternless (no blue markings which is controlled by a dominant gene) and will influence the pattern. Depending on the way your sans carries this gene, the progeny may be 100% patternless, or you may get wild form brownish types with some possibly having red spots. My own experience with this gene using heterozygous fish is a 50/50 result, but i have seen other breeders get different percentages.