PDA

View Full Version : Hello

ewelch
12-26-2013, 09:16 PM
Hello everyone ! My name is Eric and I recently joined and have been reading through all of the wonderful threads .

I wanted to stop in an introduce my self. I live in zebulon NC and I am experienced marine aquarium keeper . I am also an officer in www.ncmas.org , a local reef club . I am still fully involved in marine tank keeping , mainly reef. I have recently had the desire to come back to my "roots" and setup a discus tank.

My plan is to start with a proven pair and breed and grow out the babies in a 40 breeder . Once I have the stock I want iwill be setting up a DeepBlue rimmles 80 gallon tank(purchased new to setup Another reef tank) for the dt and a 40 breeder for the sump. Planning on BB , driftwood and discus only for that tank . I will be using alot of the knowledge and equipment that I have worked with in the marine world for this build .

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope to expand my knowldege here and provide the best enviroment for my new addiction.

Eric

OC Discus
12-26-2013, 10:14 PM
Welcome Eric. You must have kept discus before, being your "roots". One huge difference in discus keeping and other types of fish is the discipline of frequent water changes. You'll read a lot about that on SD. Good luck with your new venture.

ewelch
12-27-2013, 12:02 AM
Welcome Eric. You must have kept discus before, being your "roots". One huge difference in discus keeping and other types of fish is the discipline of frequent water changes. You'll read a lot about that on SD. Good luck with your new venture.

Thanks for the welcome ! Sorry I meant fresh water as my roots . This is my first go with discus . I am excited but patient and reading every thing I can . Even in marine tanks WC are still the best way of nutrient export so I am use to it already .

Nick Klimkowski
12-27-2013, 12:18 AM