PDA

View Full Version : NADA 2014 - Who's making plans????

Larry Bugg
01-02-2014, 02:53 PM
Have you started making plans to attend yet???

I have already registered for the Show and have a hotel room reserved for 4 nights. Where do you stand? Less than 6 months away and I'm starting to get excited. John is telling us all about the Austin area and things we can do outside the hotel/show to have a great vacation but for me all the excitement is at the hotel.

In 2010 I was pretty new to keeping discus. When I get excited about something I like to find a way to get involved. It just makes it that much more fun. I read on Simply about the 2010 NADA Show that was being held in June and thought what better way to get to know others in the hobby and maybe get a chance to meet some of the "Discus Gods". I knew that being a novice I would probably be on the outside looking in but that was ok. Boy was I wrong. My first night there I found myself in John's pick up truck with John (President at that time), Willie Loh (past President) and one of my discus heroes Dick Au. We went to John's house to see his fish room. Thought I was in discus heaven!! I quickly found out that the "Discus Gods" were just ordinary people like you and me and they didn't care if I had no experience or a lifetime of experience. I was one of them and made to feel very welcome. The speaker sessions were great but the best part of the weekend was hanging out in small groups listening, sharing and learning. Most of the people there were posters from Simply so I already knew who most of them were once I put names to screen names.

So, where are you with your plans? Have you considered it? I can tell you in no uncertain terms that it will be a experience you won't forget.

Did you attend the 2010 or 2012 Show? Share a couple of things that really made the trip worthwhile for you.................

Discus-n00b
01-02-2014, 05:49 PM