PDA

View Full Version : parasite? fungus? help!

Libby911
01-12-2014, 09:18 PM
Ok discus gurus, I could really use some help here. I'm fairly new to discus and have 9 adult wilds (thanks, snookn21!) in a 210g, daily 30% water changes, water parameters all good, tank is a pfs-substrate tank with some sword plants and neons and cory cat tankmates, kept at 84 degrees, very well filtered. One of my fish developed some issues with pectoral fins - one fin isn't moving and has whitish edges (fin rot?) and now the other pectoral fin is showing similar. Fish is darkening and isn't eating. Another fish has what looks like a slightly more fuzzy version of ich spots, small pinhead-sized slightly fluffy spots and excessive slime production. This fish is still eating and behaving normally. I've started treatment with paraguard thinking it would address fin rot or external parasite issues. I'm not entirely sure what I'm dealing with, as it seems a bit unlike anything I've run into with my other non-discus tanks. Any ideas what I'm dealing with and how to best treat it?

Elliots
01-12-2014, 10:56 PM
Did you get your fish recently from John (Snookin21)? If you did call him up and ask him what to do. If not maybe call him anyway. I bought some fish from him and I had a similar problem. He told me to add aquarium salt but I do not remember what dosage and he may have also suggested formalin but I could not find formalin. The problem I had, fin fungus, was not due to John. I was told by two other people the fungus was due to them being wilds that were shipped. I did also use a "Herbal" remedy that took time but worked. I did not try the usual fungus remedies because I have Loaches in the tank and they are scaleless fish who are sometimes killed by some remedies.

dirtyplants
01-13-2014, 01:44 AM