PDA

View Full Version : Not new to fish but new to discus.

Gil
01-26-2014, 09:13 AM
So let me introduce myself... Name is Gil and I'm new to Simply Discus and new to discus.
Of course I have lots of questions even though I have been in the fish hobby for decades, yes I'm an old guy.

Two months ago I purchased eight small 2" discus from a trusted local breeder, not a LFS, four of them are doing great, 2 have died and there are two that look as if they won't last long either since they hardly eat, they are getting skinny and dark.
The other four are doing very nice, fins expanded, nice colors are starting to show, spunky and eat anything I drop in the tank.

Here is a description of their habitat...

55g tank
temp 86-88f
Two Fluval 204 running biological only, no carbon.
PH steady 7.4 no buffers, some driftwood.
Light 1/2 sand bottom

I usually change 5 gallons and vacuum the bottom on a daily basis with a bigger water change every week, I treat with Prime, don't use any medicines, chemicals, snake oil etc.

Been feeding frozen bloodworms, some frozen brine shrimp and they love Marine Flakes with garlic. I feed small amounts or till I see a little bulge on their bellies 4-5 times daily.

My questions...

What would you guys change or am I in the right track as far as a healthy (as I can make it) habitat for them?

And, Not counting deceases, Is the survival rate for small discus less than that of other fish or again, could something that I'm doing be changed?

I'd like to get more discus but I'd rather start slow and learn from mistakes before adding any more.

Thanks in advance.

DiscusLoverJeff
01-26-2014, 09:21 AM
Hello Gil and welcome to SD.

I would up your water changes to 50% a day or more if you can. The grow out stage is critical to healthy and good shaped discus. That is why water changes are very important. Your temp seems a bit to high as well. Lower it 82/84 range. Other than that, looks good so far.

Gil
01-26-2014, 09:44 AM