PDA

View Full Version : LFS has a blue wild pair for sale. Have a question?

we4wieners
02-26-2014, 07:15 PM
My LFS has a pair of what they called a blue wild pair. I haven't seen discus in the store ever. They are being housed a 10g hex plastic tank and they are about 5-6" each. They want 100. for the pair.

1. Can I mix wilds with my current stock of snakeskins and turks?

2. Any special way to q-tine them?

3. They are really timid and dark in that little tank, however their fins are bright blue.

I have no experience with wilds, so I apologize for the dumb questions.

Udeservit
02-26-2014, 07:34 PM
OMG, beware. Your scenario sounds like one I had and it ended badly. !00 bucks for a pair is really cheap. Can you find out where the store got the discus? Id see if they even eat at the store. If its a project you want and you have the available tank for a pair and $ if they are sick then why not!!! you sound intrigued . you have a min 30 gal for this pair? QT, you ask? YEs!!!! I think Id find a permanent separate home for the pair if its breeding you want to experiment with.

I wouldn't mix a pair at all if thats what your wondering. thats my opinion. Give them the best home possible min 30 gal and hope for the best, but by your description I think you'd be taking a chance for just about every variable. Breeding proof? are they really a pair? Where did LFS get them? etc.....

I am soooo interested in following this if you do make the purchase. But I'd be wary from the info you've shared.

Cheap pair experiment :) Or expensive... However you see it.

Cheers

we4wieners
02-26-2014, 08:18 PM
I am very skeptical. However, I really want these guys, but I don't want to make a rash purchase. I only have a 20g for a QT. Is there any reason to add anything to the QT? If I do decide, I will certainly make sure they eat at the store.

brewmaster15
02-26-2014, 08:42 PM