PDA

View Full Version : Tank shape, size and type-of-glass question.

adapted
02-28-2014, 12:37 PM
I've decided my 75 is too small to provide the best home to 8 large discus so I'm returning it. (It also has a defect - the trim is not level.)

I thought it might be worth paying 150 bucks more for a 90G, mainly for more depth (48" x 18 x 25 vs 48 x 18 x 21).

Then I thought since it fits the same wall space, a 120 (48 x 24 x 25) might be the better option for 8 large discus.

If anyone has used both sizes for a similar sized group of adults could you offer an opinon on the value of the increased depth? Value to the fish, I mean... would they be more likely to thrive with the extra space?

Also, while I'm spending like a sailor on shore leave, is it worth it on either sized tank to pay 100 bucks more for low iron glass. (I'm a serious amateur photgrapher and I'm sort of picky about color rendition.) I', assuming the glass would be about 3/8 for the ninety and possibly one-half for the 120. (Buying from Glass Cages.)

Thanks...

Elliots
02-28-2014, 12:44 PM
I also bought from GlassCasges. I spent the extra money for low iron glass. I only bought the front glass in low iron. The larger the tank the better for your Discus. My tank is also 24" deep and I like it. With that depth there is more room for your fish to swim from back to front. If you want driftwood or plants there is more room for them. You have not really started spending. Wait until you buy Discus!

adapted
02-28-2014, 12:59 PM
Thank Eliot... that is exactly the sort of answer I was hoping to get.

As for the discus themselves. I had what was to me a decent amount budgeted for 6-8 fish from Hans or John Kretasoulos ($1200) but I had an unexpected root canal Wednesday (also 1200) so I have to regroup.

(Can two large men lift and position a 120G?)

OC Discus
02-28-2014, 01:40 PM
Adapted,