PDA

View Full Version : Petroleum vs Silicone on Canister O Rings

OC Discus
03-02-2014, 04:42 PM
Is a sterile petroleum sealant on canister o rings as safe and effective as silicone sealant?

sdrexler078
03-02-2014, 05:49 PM
I'd just get a new o ring. Is it bad and you're trying to reseal it?

OC Discus
03-02-2014, 07:01 PM
No. It's new. Instructions with the canister suggest applying silicone sealant to the o rings after cleaning the canister. It actually came with a small amount, like grease- not a glue.

OC Discus
03-02-2014, 07:02 PM
Will petroleum products, like vasoline, react with the o rings?

sdrexler078
03-02-2014, 07:07 PM
It may I'm a mechanic and I know a lot of o rings get damaged by petroleum but some don't but that's with cars I'm not sure how yours will react. I would just use what they gave you if anything. I don't use any on mine. If it's to help slide it in you can just use water

OC Discus
03-02-2014, 07:14 PM
It may I'm a mechanic and I know a lot of o rings get damaged by petroleum but some don't but that's with cars I'm not sure how yours will react. I would just use what they gave you if anything. I don't use any on mine. If it's to help slide it in you can just use water

Thanks. I think they recommend it to lubricate the seals and keep them from drying out and cracking.

I spilled a quart of oil into the spare tire well of a car once- a new car. The spare was sitting on a petroleum based cushion, for sound insulation. The cushion must have been petroleum based, because it reacted with the oil and turned to mush.

Does anyone else know if Vaseline is safe to lubricate canister o rings?

nc0gnet0
03-02-2014, 07:36 PM
use a beeswax based chapstick.

OC Discus
03-02-2014, 07:41 PM
use a beeswax based chapstick.

Thanks Rick. A little tube of this could be kept with the aquarium stuff.

Do you know if the Vaseline is bad? Actually "Aquaphor" is what I'm using. It is a sterile petroleum jelly.

sdrexler078
03-02-2014, 07:56 PM