PDA

View Full Version : Non Silicate Sand

afriend
03-07-2014, 10:11 AM
I'm considering adding a thin layer of non silicate sand to my aquarium containing adult discus. My understanding is that silicate sand can lead to diatom problems, so I thought it would be best not to use it. One type of non silicate sand is crushed marble which is calcium carbonate. The type I am considering is sold under the trade name "PlayBox" sand and is stated as 99.9% silicate free.

Anyone have experience with this product OR have knowledge of how calcium carbonate can affect the water chemistry in my aquarium? I'm a novice in this area, so any and all responses would be greatly appreciated.

Paul

dirtyplants
03-07-2014, 01:21 PM
a chemical compound with the formula CaCO3. It is a common substance found in rocks in all parts of the world, and is the main component of shells of marine organisms, snails, coal balls, pearls, and eggshells. Calcium carbonate is the active ingredient in agricultural lime, and is created when Ca ions in hard water react with carbonate ions creating limescale. It is commonly used medicinally as a calcium supplement or as an antacid, but excessive consumption can be hazardous. This also reacts with CO2, I beleive calcium bicarbonate, reacts with acid releasing carbon dioxide.
I would not use it unless my water were very acidic or soft.

afriend
03-07-2014, 03:32 PM
a chemical compound with the formula CaCO3. It is a common substance found in rocks in all parts of the world, and is the main component of shells of marine organisms, snails, coal balls, pearls, and eggshells. Calcium carbonate is the active ingredient in agricultural lime, and is created when Ca ions in hard water react with carbonate ions creating limescale. It is commonly used medicinally as a calcium supplement or as an antacid, but excessive consumption can be hazardous. This also reacts with CO2, I beleive calcium bicarbonate, reacts with acid releasing carbon dioxide.