PDA

View Full Version : Discus stress bars stress me out

fiftymeatballs
03-10-2014, 10:09 AM
I have been keeping discus for 5 years or so. I keep many species of fish including apisto, rainbow, loach, dwarf shrimp etc and am currently running 4 display tanks. One of those is a 120 gallon planted discus community tank with 7 adults.

I am always analyzing the crap out of my discus. If they show stress bars and fight a lot I get stressed. If one scratches itself on driftwood or tears a fin I get bent out of shape. I always feel like I need to change water. Now don't get me wrong I really enjoy keeping fish. It's a huge passion of mine. But after years I am realizing discus are the only fish that seem to make me stressed out. I feel like this hobby is supposed to be relaxing, almost a form of meditation for me. I want to get lost in my fish tank, but can't seem to feel that way when I look at my discus tank. What the hell is wrong with me? Does anyone else feel like this?

Phillydubs
03-10-2014, 10:55 AM
It is all part of the hobby my friend. Keeping a tank, let alone tanks is a lot of work. It takes time, energy, passion, focus and dedication. It sounds to me as if you are very dedicated to your fish and love them alot, hence the stress when any little thing is wrong. I think all you can do is what is in your control. Water changes, feed good food, give them a great home to grow and good care and sit back and try and relax. They are animals after all, things will happen, just as they can to you, me, a child or any other animal we own. You can't stress over every little thing...