PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on my readiness for either adult shoal or a pair of RTs

Jsk8tes
03-10-2014, 11:26 PM
Hello! I'm using the questionnaire provided (I want to be thorough) so sorry if this is long, but I wanted some thoughts on whether it would be best to buy a shoal of about 5 adults or find a bonded pair or RTs, however my goal is not to breed and not to have to cull. Thanks!

1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.

Jennifer here. I've been keeping fish for 15 years, mostly FW, but have had SW as well. I hope to keep discus in my established 55-gallon (gravel, with a mixture of live and artificial plants and driftwood). Two HOB filters and one heater. (looking at changing this to two 200w for consistency).

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?

No previous experience with discus, but have read many stickies here. Lots of info, thanks!

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.

55 gallon (4-ft long), set up for and running for 15 years. Display.

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.

Mixture of gravel and flourite, mixed with artificial and live plants and driftwood.

5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.

I do weekly 25% WCs using a python. I replace with water of same temperature from the tap (adding water conditioner that precedes the tap water before flowing into the tank from the python)