PDA

View Full Version : Advice Needed! Help

Mia427
04-02-2014, 11:35 AM
Hello Everyone! Not sure if I'm posting in the right spot i am new to this group so forgive if I'm not! I am a newbie to discus so i need some advice on my tank......

Here goes....

I have a 90 gallon black canopy freshwater tank, i set it up and filled on December 27th 2013. I have a heater for up to 100 gallons, two bubbler bars in the back of the tank, white sand (safe for freshwater from petco) and the fluval Fx6 and a super bright LED light (i think thats what it is called). Inside the canister is everything that came with it, bio rings, sponges, carbon bags. Im pretty aware of the cycle process and how it can be agonizing to wait it out, but i did and made sure i didn't put any fish in right away. Ive just left the tank alone and let it do its thing for a few weeks then i added 5 black fin tetras (Jan 20th) which have been fine since. Recently my tank became cloudy and started to grow green algae on the substrate and glass. I kept doing water changes every week and couldn't get rid of it. I ended up doing a large water change (about 60%) and sifted out the top layer of substrate rinsed it free of algae and dropped back it. Water seemed less green. Few days latter it started to get green again and i couldn't figure it out.... I ended up doing another water change (about 40%) and then did some research online and came across a lack of aeration thread. After my water change i pointed the output of my canister filter up towards the top of the water and in about 2 days water cleared up (no longer green) and no algae on the glass, theres a little bit on the sand but you can hardly tell. So its been about 2 weeks, and my water is cloudy. Not green just cloudy. Its not overly cloudy but its not crystal clear either. I went ahead and used my API master test kit and tested the water.

Temp-82

PH-7.2

Ammonia-0.25ppm

NitrIte-0ppm

NitrAte-5.0ppm