PDA

View Full Version : Are these guys stunted??

nizfactor
04-08-2014, 12:50 AM
Hello all,

Recently got these three 1.5-2" babies from a local breeder. I'm pretty new to discus, so before I order some 'better' fish, I wanted to make sure that these guys were stunted. The things that indicate possible stunting are the large eyes, color for their size, and their overall shape. Please let me know what you think.

Thanks a ton,
Noah

http://s740.photobucket.com/user/discus12345/media/image-9_zps9dd8ce3e.jpeg.html

Bill63SG
04-08-2014, 06:34 AM
You got it,coloring up,patteren,football shape,larger eyes.Stunted.

Second Hand Pat
04-08-2014, 06:50 AM
Hi Noah, yes they are. The large eye to body ratio and football shape of the one in the second picture are your indications. Please also note that these guys are also thin. Note the pinched forehead, especially in the first picture.

Also let me encourage you to do a bunch of reading here about selection and care of very young discus. You will find we recommend a group of no less then six as they do best in groups. Are feed several times a day in a bare bottom tank with large daily water changes. The reason for using a bare bottom tank is it is easier to clean and maintain good water quality with the mess the fish create with all the feeding.
Pat

wild-blue-discus
04-08-2014, 07:05 AM
oew yep they look stunted, if your local breeder is reputable take them back, and ask for an exchange especially if you paid a reasonable price, i'm surprised they would sell them like that.

Hello all,

Recently got these three 1.5-2" babies from a local breeder. I'm pretty new to discus, so before I order some 'better' fish, I wanted to make sure that these guys were stunted. The things that indicate possible stunting are the large eyes, color for their size, and their overall shape. Please let me know what you think.

Thanks a ton,
Noah

http://s740.photobucket.com/user/discus12345/media/image-9_zps9dd8ce3e.jpeg.html

Nick Klimkowski