PDA

View Full Version : Discus black bars and peppering?

metsfan421
04-23-2014, 12:45 AM
Hello,

I am new to keeping discus and currently have 9 of them in a heavily planted tank. I noticed some of them have black bars on them and some are peppering. I was wondering if this is a bad thing. I do water changes regularly sometimes 50% but mostly 25% a day. I feed them hikari bookworms, and frozen bloodworms, but have read that feeding them frozen bloodworms may not be the best thing for them. Do these changes in them reverse ie: the bars and the peppering? The tank has 0 nitrites and nitrates and no ammonia as it's heavily planted and was cycled months ago. I keep the water temp between 83 and 84 degrees with a finnex heater and finnex temperature controller. I keep the PH between 6.6 and 6.7 with the use of pressurized CO2 and a PH Meter. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

metsfan421
04-23-2014, 12:45 AM
LOL sorry, hikari bloodworms.. damn autocorrect!

niqhil
04-23-2014, 01:25 AM
What is the color of background and substrate ? They do affect the color causing them to become dark and peppering on pigeon bloods.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

metsfan421
04-23-2014, 10:33 AM
What is the color of background and substrate ? They do affect the color causing them to become dark and peppering on pigeon bloods.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

I have a black background because I think it looks best with plants. Its the regular background that you can buy from the LFS. My substrate is currently the black eco-complete.

Madaboutdiscus
04-23-2014, 10:43 AM