PDA

View Full Version : need help with my first ever newly hatched fry

h_arraf
04-24-2014, 03:30 AM
hi all
i'm new to breeding
about 5 days ago my Red Turquoise lay eggs and about two days ago the hatched and i have fry
the aquariums a cube 50cm
i have a heater set to 29c a sponge filter connected to an air pump the filter itself is cover with a white cloth
i lower the water at the tank to make it easy for them to find there parents
i'm looking at the now and they are swimming and clinging to there parents
1- how long can leave them with there parents ?
2- when should i start giving the fresh hatched artemia ( brine shrimp ) ?
3- when should i start feed them crashed tetra bits ?
4- if they are with there parents who many times must i feed them and if the are alone who many times ?
5- when should i move them to there own aquarium and what size should it be ?

musicmarn1
04-24-2014, 05:30 AM
Congrats! Just wanted to recommend Forrestsaquabites, he raises his fry on them and I got quarter sized fry and they num it up so fast ! http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?112328-DiscusFORREST-AQUAbites-Premium-Grade-Granules

Other fry experts will answer the other questions:) but I think it's around two weeks to start feeding them but depends on how much if a beating the parents slime coat gets ive read.

h_arraf
04-24-2014, 06:27 AM
thank you i don't think we have this brand around where i am you need to ship it overseas and might cost time and more money

MKD
04-24-2014, 09:04 AM
Congrats and have fun. Check out stickies on top. They'll help you

http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?t=26679
Hatching timeline

««««««««««« please excuse smart phone poster error »»»»»»»»»»

Madaboutdiscus
04-24-2014, 09:18 AM
thank you i don't think we have this brand around where i am you need to ship it overseas and might cost time and more money