PDA

View Full Version : UV sterilizer

32Bit_Fish
04-30-2014, 12:54 PM
Can someone please recommend an UV sterilizer for my 75G? I want UV to kill off flukes. Thanks

Sandy Clay
04-30-2014, 01:02 PM
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?43573-uv-sterilization-does-it-kill-flukes-off-DEAD
Here is a link about whether uv sterilizers do kill flukes.

jmf3460
04-30-2014, 01:27 PM
32Bit_Fish,

While I am on the nonbeliever side about whether UV sterilizers kill gill flukes, I am on the believer side that they help out overall in fish and tank health by keeping other parasites at bay and controlling green water outbreaks. I have some recent personal experience for you. Less than a year ago I bought a TruAqua 13watt submersible UV sterilizer for my 75 gallon. The whole unit submerses and pulls in water by a UV light then releases it using a propeller. For me it was like a UV/circulator in one I put it in the corner of my tank that doesn't have much flow and bam, I got flow and uv. I was really happy, the one I bought worked well, crystal clear water happy fish, good flow rate. Two days ago it died, not just the light the whole thing, the motor got water to it somehow. I just bought a new one today at my LFS, another submersible. Will let you know how it does. Its a "Green Killing Machine UV Internal UV with Powerhead." you can see the one I bought today here http://www.petco.com/product/114522/Green-Killing-Machine-Internal-UV-Sterilizer-with-Power-Head.aspx?CoreCat=certona-_-ProductListTopRated_Fish_2-_-Green%20Killing%20Machine%20Internal%20UV%20Steril izer%20with%20Power%20Head-114522 I bought this with the store manager's word that if I was unhappy for any reason I can bring it back. Reason for this is because its kind of a generic and not a well know name brand that I trust.

32Bit_Fish
04-30-2014, 02:37 PM
Thanks for the reply guys.