PDA

View Full Version : Help me solve bullying situation

zachawry
05-22-2014, 08:12 PM
Hi,

I am new to discus. I have five discus in a heavily planted 65 gallon tank, which you can see here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2085NurXh4

I'm not sure how large the discus are, but one is nearly full grown (almost 6"?) and the rest are a little smaller (4-5"?).

As you can see in the video, the large one is kind of a bully. In particular, he bullies the orange striped one pretty mercilessly. It has lead to underfeeding of the orange one, since he spends most of his time hiding. If anything, he looks even a little more stunted now than in this video.

I see a few different remedies:

1. Return big one to store and hope the next-biggest just doesn't step into his role.
(I'd prefer not this one because he is the prettiest and was expensive!)

2. Return the bullied one.
(I know a QT tank might be best option, but I have neither space nor spousal cooperation for another tank.)

3. Return the bullied one, and get another one (about 5").

4. Return the bullied one, and get 2 more.

Right now I am leaning towards 4. I would return the bullied orange-striped one, then get two more I've seen at the store: one of which is about 5" and one of which is about 6". This would put me at 6 individuals, which is pushing it but acceptable in a 65 gallon tank with other smaller fish.

What do you all think? I am new and would appreciate any advice.

Best,
Zachary Braverman

discus rookie
05-23-2014, 02:41 AM
A nice looking discus is supposed to be round, thick, not pointy, and swim around gracefully.
I think it may be the Co2 and the pH swing plus all the dissolved organic that is stressing them out. No matter what you do, if the condition remains the same they will just all get stressed have their growth impeded no matter which one you return and replace.