PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum and discus keeping

ced_^
05-28-2014, 02:39 PM
Hi fellow hobbyists!

im new to the forum. First of all, i am not a novice to fishkeeping. i have been and is still keeping a golden red tail arowana(from 10cm to today 55cm), japanese kois, goldfishes and tropical fishes.

Here is my filled in questionnaire!

1) Please Introduce your self and tell us what your experience is with fishkeeping, give us as much information as possible as to how long in the hobby, what you have kept in the past and what you currently are working with.
this is done =p

2) If you have no previous experience with keeping discus, have you done any research to properly prepare yourself, e.g. have you read any Stickies in this section of SimplyDiscus, or other material?
no experience but has done my research

3) Describe your tank, its size and dimensions, breeding or display. Include how long it has been setup or if it is still being cycled.
i am thinking about a tank of 120cm x 50cm x 70cm. this equals to 420 liters and approx 92 uk gallons. However, with all the research i have done, i have not been able to find a minimum tank size or a guideline to estimate the adequate size. i have read that it is recommended to have 10g for an adult discus of 8". However, i do believe that the dimension of the aquarium is as important as the capacity of water it can hold. for example, i can make my tank 140 x 40 x 60 which will also contain 420 liters. i read that discus prefer a high tank because they move a lot from top to bottom?

4) Describe the décor for the tank; type of substrate or bare bottom (BB), whether the tank will be planted or a biotope.
bare bottom more easy cleaning
5) Describe your water changes planned or practiced, percentage and how often. Include if you age your water and use of tap/RO or mix.