PDA

View Full Version : Newbie to Discus - Please help

BR1AN
08-21-2014, 08:27 AM
Hi, this is my first post on the forum, and I am new to discus. Some background information on me. I have had a mixed community tank (15 Tall) for 2 years. It is pretty basic, but it is doing great. I decided to get a new tank a few months ago. I bought a 29 Gallon and set it up as a planted tank. I spent a lot of time planning an setting it up, I have a Fluvial 206 canister filter on it. While researching dirted tanks, I ran into some videos with Discus and fell in love. After cycling the new tank, I went to the local pet store to get some fish. Randomly the owner mentioned Discus and talked me into getting a pair of juveniles (2.5-3") . I feel like I was taken by a used car salesman, I was so excited at the time I bought them, but I knew that I really should have had a bigger tank and more discus (I am not going back to that store anymore). I would get a new tank right now if my fiance would let me. I really like them so I do not want to return or sell them so I have a few questions but before I get into that lets talk about some stats.

My water out of the tap has a Ph of 7.6 my tank has a Ph of 7.8, I know it is high but they seem to have acclimated to it fine.
Ammonia - 0ppp
Nitrites - 0ppm
Nitrates - 0ppm
I am not sure how hard the water is.
The water temperature is 84 F
I have six rummy nose tetra, two cory cats, and the two turquoise discus.

Currently I am doing 30% water changes twice a week, but I monitor Ammonia on a daily basics and I can adjust as necessary. (I treat the new water with Prime)
I have one heater, that is new, but I plan to get a second soon so I have a back up.
Again I am using a canister filter, a Fluval 206, which is good for a 45 gallon aquarium.
Currently I am feeding them Brine Shrimp and Blood worms, but I just order Colbolt Discus Pellets which I want to train them on as their main diet, with other food as treats.