PDA

View Full Version : Please if you're online help!!!

mountain_bike
08-23-2014, 10:08 PM
I am new to breeding and was curious if I should change the water in my breeding tank just hours after eggs were laid and fertilized. Let me explain, I've been trying to breed for a month now and last batch my pair did everything correct I was so so proud. They laid, male immediately fertilized and the female fanned the eggs for 36 hours before they turned white and then she kicked them all off the ceramic ornament they used to lay. But as I live in michigan in an area of hard water I thought that was the reason the eggs turned amber to Amber with black dots to white. I figured they were fertilized but couldn't hatch because I'm using straight tap with discus buffer ( my ph is over 8.4 don't know why that is. I use buffer opposed to r o because I don't have enough time)

So long story medium can someone tell me if I should change their water while in their new tank. It is 50 ro 50 tap, but because I seeded it with an existing sponge filter that was unclean the nitrates are over 20. They could be higher by the morning. I am just wondering if nitrates will affect eggs, not wigglers. I can do a very gentle water change in the morning but would I be better off doing it tonight? I have the aged r o all heated and ready to go. I just don't want to spook the pair but if a 20-30 nitrate reading will hurt the eggs I figure why not. I didn't think they would lay again 5 days later but I was wrong.

any advice would be appreciated thanks

Chicago Discus
08-23-2014, 10:23 PM