PDA

View Full Version : What heaters do you guys use? (having troubles getting my tank to 90)

CanuckGame
09-10-2014, 04:50 PM
Hey everyone, so im new to Discus, today marks the 7th day.

all of a sudden one of my 6 Discus stopped eating, so i contacted the seller i got them from, and he suggested cranking the heat to 90 for a few days to see if that helps,

anyways in my 75 gallon, i have 2-300W heaters, and the max they go to is 32 degrees Celsius, which is 89.6 degrees Fahrenheit, this works, but they are cranked full blast and my tank stays at about 84 degrees Fahrenheit...

anyways, i have a bunch of heaters, so i just added another 300W heater to see if that will help.... but i dont get it, why would i need 900 Watts worth of heaters in a 75 gallon tank...

i will check in a couple of hours to see if i have reached the temp i need, but thought i would ask what heaters you guys use.

a.person61
09-10-2014, 05:52 PM
Thats a little hot... If the fish are new give them some time. The heaters don't go up to that temp because they switch off at the temp there set to so there might be a cold spot. I would personly say lower the temp befor you cook the fish (to the temp there ment to be at) whats your water like? Some pics on the fish and of the tank could be helpfull. I use aqua one heater not the best.

-Auzzie

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk 2

wild4discus
09-10-2014, 07:11 PM