PDA

View Full Version : Discus breeding in community tank

Stewy
09-23-2014, 10:30 PM
Hello all,
I have used the forum for looking up information in the past yet have not joined until now. I am a relatively novice discus keeper but have fallen victim to the discus itch. My issues stem around them mating in my main tank. I have a 240 gallon community tank that currently houses eight discus (after I sold one), about 50 harlequin rasboras, about a dozen oto's and a small army of corydoras hasbrosas. I recently had an absolutely gorgeous pair that decided to start laying eggs in the community tank. At first, I thought that it was awesome. I quickly found that I am not in a position to attempt to breed them. Once this was discovered, I decided to let them do as they would in the tank and let be what would be. The problem that I encountered was that the two quickly became too aggressive with the other inhabitants. They began chasing everything away to the other end of the tank and all of my fish, including my Harleys, were hiding in the plants and driftwood. It got to the point that I had to do something because nobody was swimming around and it was upsetting to not see my fish out and about as I enjoy. So with a heavy heart, I sold the male. It was a difficult decision as he was one of my favorite fish. That was four days ago. Now, I was under the impression that the rest of my discus were female and I thought that my issues were over. As fate would have it, I found eggs on my heater as I sat watching my tank this evening. It seems that two of my others have in fact paired off and are making a go at it. So...now what do I do. I plan on adding a further eight discus to the tank and I am not real happy about having to constantly fight breeding pairs if they become aggressive like the previous pair did and upset my peaceful community.