PDA

View Full Version : New Discus Keeper

iantouch
09-28-2014, 02:26 AM
Hi everyone!
This is my first time here in SD.. and this is also my first time to keep discus fish.
I have been in the fish keeping hobby since I was 10 years old may be.. :)
Currently I keep 6 discus, 1 blue diamond, 1 snakeskin, 4 reds(oranges?) I'm not sure.

Tank set up:
Bare-bottom
120L (according to the seller)
OH Filtration
With 2 plants (Anubias Nana Petite, Java Fern)

Tankmates:
8 neon tetras

I started with 4 reds in a very small aquarium, I didn't have a choice since it was just given as a gift.
I noticed that they were very skittish, when I turn on the lights or whenever I enter the room they go darting around the tank and bumping the glass.
They were a nervous wreck. So I thought adding some more might help change the behavior but unfortunately it just the same.

Last 25th I bought a bigger tank and I hope there will be some changes in their behavior.
So far, they are still the same nervous dudes hiding at the back of the filter head.
I've added some tankmates too.

Any suggestions from you guys as to improve their behavior? :confused:

Thank you!

rdiscus
09-28-2014, 02:45 AM
Welcome to Simply Discus !

iantouch
09-28-2014, 04:16 AM
Thank you! :grin:

I don't know if i can post pictures already or after I've post some few threads..

JunUB
09-28-2014, 04:32 AM
Same here man I got the same problem. When I purchased mine from my LFS they were so chill and mellow. They didn't even have any hiding spots, etc. I bought then under the small assorted discus label. Till this day, I don't even know what strain they are. Anyways like I said. They were chill at the per store but at home they're all skittish, they seemed to mellow down but still a little timid. I really don't know what's the cause? They aren't stressed or malnourished or anything.

iantouch
09-28-2014, 04:46 AM