PDA

View Full Version : How am I doing?

Natepdx1286
10-02-2014, 01:28 PM
Hello, I'm new to discus keeping and was hoping to get some feedback on my tank set up, w/c and feeding schedule. I have had 3 juvenile discus that I bought from my lfs ( they said they were from discus hans) for about 5 days now. I am keeping them in a moderately planted 55g with gravel substrate and some driftwood. Housed with the 3 discus are 5 corydoras, 20 neon tetras, 10 hatchet fish, 5 otos, 5 Amano shrimp and 5 Asian clams. I perform 25 percent w/c's every day(w/ moderate gravel cleaning) and I plan on once a week doing a %50 along with a through gravel cleaning. I work 60 hours a week, 6 days a week so feeding more than twice a day is difficult for me. Feeding is as follows. Once in the morning with either cubes of hikari bio-pure, or bloodworms, and then once again in the evening....usually 1-2 cubes each feeding (depending on how quickly they eat it). After each feeding I siphon out the leftover food as well as the gravel in the immediate area where the food had settled. The water parameters are as follows, ph 7.3-7.5, kh 50ppm, ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 5-10ppm. For filtration I am using a top fun 60 with a sponge filter and a marineland c360 canister filter. I have been keeping piranhas for a couple years now in this planted tank and had a lot of success doing so. I just became bored and wanted to move on to something different. My main concern I have at this point is wether or not I bought too few of the discus. With the tank being planted I didn't wanted them to feel crowded and stressed, hence why I only purchased 3. I'd like to eventually add 2 more...not sure if this is a good idea? I should mention that growing them out is not a big concern of mine, having happy + healthy fish is. For the first few days they hid in the corner of the tank, rarely swimming around. After the 3rd or 4th day they still spend a decent amount of time in the corners, but are much more active