View Full Version : Night attack mystery

Menagerie
10-26-2014, 03:58 PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to simply discus, well sort of, I've been haunting this site for a while gleaning good information but I come to you today with a question that I have yet to find the answer to.

First off I'm not new to fish I have a Nano reef a 75 salt tank, a Koi pond, flood tank, etc etc but the one fish I had not had was discus. So when I set up my 100 gallon fresh discus were going to be the star of the tank. So now to the parameters.

Stock 100 gallon tank
Planted but not heavily
Filtered with 2 aquaclear filters for 100 gallons with stock media
Also 2 uv sterilizers
Nitrite 0
Ammonia 0
Nitrate at or below 5 ppm (depending on water changes)
Temperature 84 degrees
Ph 7.6 (I know it's high for discus but that's what the tap has and the driftwood hasn't buffered it a lot yet)
The tank has been set up for a little over 3 months
I do water changes of 25 percent on Wednesdays and 50 percent on Saturdays or Sundays.

Stock list:
Serpae tetras
Orange tetras
Glass cats
Corydoris
Farowella catfish
Banjo catfish
Hatchet fish
feather fin synodontis
Ocellated synodontis
2 clown loaches
And 5, 3 or 4 inch discus
I added all the fish slowly by species over the weeks with the discus being the last added.

the fish are healthy and happy all day no extreme aggression to be noticed just typical feeding heiarchy. They are fed 3 times a day alternating between blood worms, mysis shrimp, emerald entrée, beef heart, shrimp pellets, and new life spectrum pellets.