PDA

View Full Version : New Discus Not Eating

DarkSeas
10-29-2014, 10:22 PM
So this is my first time posting on the forum even though I have been a member for a while. So yesterday I picked up some new discus and they are all about 6 inches big. I acclimated them to the tank and put them in tank with the lights off all day yesterday. My question is today I dropped so flake in the tank and they seem to not be interested in it. I am using the same food they were previously being fed and I even have my tank set at the same temp they were at. Should I be worried or is this normal? If so how long before they start eating?
Thanks

Rudustin
10-29-2014, 10:32 PM
Hello Darkseas and welcome to SD. The behavior you have posted is normal for discus that have been moved from their tank to a new environment. Especially adults. Juveniles seem to more easily acclimate to new surroundings. I have had newly arrived adult discus not eat for a month. Adult Discus can go for quite a long period without eating providing they have good clean water and the right temperature. When they get hungry they will eat. Not to worry. If they are as big as you say they are either sub adults or adults so this is the norm. Take care and if there are any problems you can always find someone that will help you here on SD. Rufus

musicmarn1
10-29-2014, 10:39 PM
welcome to SD!

Discus will be upset typically after a change in environment depending on several factors. light, water quality, differences in water comapred to their old home, shipping technique, or if you picked them up travel time, lights typically off for two or more days but often if the QT procedure is good enough and the travel is smooth they will eat pretty soon.