PDA

View Full Version : Kind souls please advice

kentfong
11-05-2014, 07:33 PM
Hi all buds

I am a newbie in this hobby can some kind souls advice me..my baby frys are free swimming this morning but i notice that they are not sticking to the mother fish a heckel cross but swimming at one corner of the tank where the filter sponge is whilst the mother fish is at the other corner..questions..should i just let it be..or should i remove the mother fish else the frys could be eaten by the mother...if so how best to raise the frys artificially as a newbie..please help i am lost
.thanks in advance
Cheers

Altum Nut
11-05-2014, 09:23 PM
Welcome to SD.
Not sure what size tank but lowering the water level seems to work in most cases. More information on set-up and strain of parents will also be helpful.

...Ralph

alcastro
11-05-2014, 09:38 PM
Try to cover the sponge if you can, fry are attracted to black

rickztahone
11-05-2014, 09:44 PM

I have seen members cover sponge filters with gauge looking material. The theory is that since it isn't black, they will be less attracted to it. I have seen John say that isn't necessary, but maybe in this case it may help?

Allwin
11-05-2014, 09:59 PM
Try posting some pics/videos of ur setup to assist better.

DonMD
11-06-2014, 01:55 PM
I think patience is needed. My fry will often spend 2 or 3 days after going free-swimming without "attaching." They huddle in the corner, or at the top, then over time some will find mom or dad, and gradually most of them will discover their parents. It's frustrating to watch and wait while they figure it out.

Since you have a proven pair, don't worry. If they don't succeed, your adults will produce another spawn and you can have a second try. As mentioned, you can wrap your sponge filter with cheese cloth to make them less dark, and you can lower the water level for the time the fry are free swimming and not attached. I do not recommend removing the sponge filters.

diskus2008mk
11-06-2014, 02:00 PM