PDA

View Full Version : I'm confused about 100% water changes

robinsnestmh2
11-11-2014, 08:02 PM
I am new to discus breeding and have read a lot of posts that say they do 100% water changes. What do you do with the discus when you do these 100% water changes?

rickztahone
11-11-2014, 08:13 PM
They lay on their sides until you start filling the tank back up with water. They will be fine as long as you do the process quick enough.

Altum Nut
11-11-2014, 08:43 PM
If you are not comfortable with your Discus laying on their sides...you can get down just enough to the height of discus and start filling while leaving the siphon hose in tank for a minute or so. So you will need two hoses of the same inside diameter.
Much easier with 1" grow-outs which is why 100% w/c is talked about more often.
Seeing that you have 4" sub-adults noted on another thread you can go down to 5" from bottom....but very common by many to do 100% regardless the size of Discus.

...Ralph

yim11
11-11-2014, 09:58 PM
start filling before its totally empty, balance fill with drain and you can do 100 w/o flopping fish

kris2341
11-11-2014, 11:00 PM
I actually like doing it right down until they flop because it is much more convenient, you get EVERYTHING you physically can out of the water with this method and it is more efficient with the water in the end. The most freshness per gallon of water.

I can also squeeze out all my sponge filters right in the tank as I do my 100% water changes because practically everything comes out. No need to bust out a bucket and squeeze them out there and worry about potential cross contamination.

I personally make sure the new water is perfect for them though before I pump it in. Same temperature and at least HEAVILY agitated after dosing Safe for 30 mins though I try to make it a whole day if possible.

rickztahone
11-11-2014, 11:05 PM