PDA

View Full Version : Discus Re-Stocking question

wlr75
12-21-2014, 12:37 PM
Hello to all,
I am new to posting here but have been reading and researching here for sometime. I am primarily a marine and reef hobbyist , I however got my mother into cichlid keeping 17yrs ago. First Malawians and then Tanginikans. Between us we have almost 40yrs experience of keeping aquaria. She has successfully kept up to 7 aquariums ranging from 16g to 90g community and species and successfully breeds many species, though that was never her goal. About 5yrs ago she set up her first Discus tank, a 70g 30"x30"x18". Filtration consists of a large canister filter(bio material only) as well as a Emperor 400(carbon and filter pad). Substrate is small pebble style freshwater gravel, a few silk style plants, bog wood and a couple pieces of rock are the decorum of the display. She maintains temp of 82 degrees and a pH of 6.8. Water changes are done weekly of at least 25% or more.

I am posting here because she is not computer savy, to say the least. She has been receiving very bad advice from her LFS for sometime now and she is fed up with their practices. Unfortunately that is the only LFS in the area. So I am turning to your knowledge for some sound advice and assistance.