PDA

View Full Version : New member

shane1988
01-13-2015, 09:36 AM
Hi all been a forum member for over a year but never posted anything

Background

I have been keeping tropical and marine fish tanks for over 5 years just closed down my 125 gallon reef as I have just moved and am looking to set up a discus tank

Now my questions are if anybody an help me are

How many gallons is a 4x2x2 tank

Would a fluval fx5 or fx6 be adequate filtration

And my plans are bare bottom until discus are grown out and then planting the tank slowly once discus are mature and adding a school of tetras and a few cory cats so how many adult discus could comfortably fit in a 4x2x2 and also how many tetras and corys could I stock thanks everyone

shane1988
01-13-2015, 09:38 AM
Sorry 9 years been keeping tanks hard typing on iphone and fat fingers haha

Tankster
01-13-2015, 05:23 PM
Welcome to Simply Shane.

You are just shy of 120 gallons. Personally I would go with 8 discus. General rule is one adult discus per 10 gallons. You will most likely be taking up some volume with driftwood and substrate down the road. With your remaining volume, about 30 gallons guesstimating, I would go by whatever rule those fish follow. 1" per gallon has been around forever but each fish has its own requirements. Should be pretty easy to find with a couple Google searches.
You could go for more discus but sounds like you want a few others in there. I am erring on the side of caution. It's easy to add fish but not so easy removing them.

Altum Nut
01-14-2015, 12:11 AM
Hi all been a forum member for over a year but never posted anything

Background

I have been keeping tropical and marine fish tanks for over 5 years just closed down my 125 gallon reef as I have just moved and am looking to set up a discus tank

Now my questions are if anybody an help me are

How many gallons is a 4x2x2 tank

Would a fluval fx5 or fx6 be adequate filtration