PDA

View Full Version : Grow out tank size

purple_discus
01-26-2015, 01:56 PM
Hello, my first post here on simply discus. I am not new to discus but no expert. I have been keeping aquariums for 8 years now, ranging from nano, planted and reef. My first venture with discus was 2 years ago when I converted my 55g reef tank into a planted discus tank. I made the mistake of buying hormoned fish from my LFS. I was able to raise them up to about 4-5" in my planted tank before I had to part with my setup and move. Now I am making another attempt and very excited about it.

This time, I've converted a low tech 40g planted tank to a bare bottom, currently stocked with 6 neon tetras and Anubis tied to a rock. I've already gotten in the habit of doing 80% wc every day. I have Discus Bio-gold, beef heart and blackworms that I plan to feed 4-6x a day. I have a heater and hob aqua clear filter running with a sponge and chemi pure elite (love this stuff!) and I plan on purchasing 5 or 6 small 2.25" blue diamond discus.

My question is, will 40g be large enough as a grow out? I read an article somewhere that smaller tanks are better for growing out juvies. I also wonder if it would be okay to keep the neon tetras? Later on I plan to sell few of the grown-out discus and upgrade to a larger planted tank.

Second Hand Pat
01-26-2015, 02:58 PM
Hi and welcome to Simply. A 40 breeder is great IMO for starting small juvies. I would start with 8 as you generally have one or two who might stay on the smaller size. The neon tetras can not tolerate discus temps and personally I feel that dither fish should not be in a grow out tank. When the fish get around 3.5 to 4 inches plan on a larger tank as they will need the room.
Pat

purple_discus
01-26-2015, 09:04 PM