PDA

View Full Version : What is the best filter system?

aklemmensen
01-27-2015, 03:42 AM
Hi Guys,

I have a 75 G tank with 4 discus and 2 angel fish (and a constant algae problem, but that's for another day) with sand. I am pretty new to this, my tank and fish are about 1y old. I need to upgrade to a better filter, the one I have currently is what the tank came with from Petsmart. I can tell its not doing a great job. I understand canister filters are much better for the tank. I have been looking around but I wanted to ask advise. I see them from around $65+ on amazon, and $200 + at pet stores. With such a big price difference I want to make sure I get a right thing. My husband was even talking about buying a pump and making one. He is a very handy person, but that just scares me. He kills my fish and he is out on the curb! :) Any advise is appreciated.

Anya

dragon1974
01-27-2015, 10:02 AM
Hi Anya,

Ok so....Tell us about your process from start to finish. How big are the discus, how old, what do you feed, how often to you feed, how much water changes do you do?

Once you fill in the blanks I think you'll get more info. Also I think you're able to post pics seeing that you're at the 10 post mark. A couple pics of the tank along with the discus will be very helpful.

Also, welcome to SD

dpt8
01-27-2015, 11:54 AM
Hi Anya, I think you'll get as many opinions of filtration as there are in this forum. For a 75 gl I would use a 110 Aquaclear with prefilter of a 70 sponge and two V sponge filters run by small air pump. I do not like canister filters as they contain too much filth. If you change water often and vacuum thin layer of sand, this set up will work great. Algae problem may be due to HIGH Nitrates.. Should be down near no nitrates. Did you test your water ??

MendoMan
01-27-2015, 12:42 PM