PDA

View Full Version : Should I add API Stress Zymme or Stress Coat during water changes?

AaronCox
01-31-2015, 03:21 PM
Hello all,

I am very new to keeping discus...and fairly new to keeping fish in general (we've had tetras and platies for just over a year now, and have had discus for the past two months) My tank is 50 gallons with gravel and currently has two 4" discus(had three one died last week...) in it along with 7 tetras. I do 50% water changes every other day, with non aged well water. The temp. of the tank is 85.

When I only had tetra's I often times added Stress Zyme and Quick Start to the tank at water changes....dosing for the total water volume. In the discus tank should I continue to add Stress Zyme or Stress Coat? Or should I just add Quick Start...or nothing?

Thanks for such an amazing resource....the amount of information contained on this forum is incredible, and I appreciate any advice.

aaron

Bill63SG
01-31-2015, 03:48 PM
Not familiar with Quick Start,but if that is your de-chlor,just use that,and continue dosing for the entire tank volume.You don't need the others.

blueluv
01-31-2015, 06:56 PM
Hello all,

I am very new to keeping discus...and fairly new to keeping fish in general (we've had tetras and platies for just over a year now, and have had discus for the past two months) My tank is 50 gallons with gravel and currently has two 4" discus(had three one died last week...) in it along with 7 tetras. I do 50% water changes every other day, with non aged well water. The temp. of the tank is 85.

When I only had tetra's I often times added Stress Zyme and Quick Start to the tank at water changes....dosing for the total water volume. In the discus tank should I continue to add Stress Zyme or Stress Coat? Or should I just add Quick Start...or nothing?
Hello

Thanks for such an amazing resource....the amount of information contained on this forum is incredible, and I appreciate any advice.

aaron