PDA

View Full Version : Pre Tank Beginner Feed BACK Needed!! and Appreciated

jgalen0025
02-25-2015, 03:49 PM
(I posted this in the sticky and then realized the last post was almost 2 years ago so I thought it would be better to make my own thread)

1) Hi, Everyone! My name is Jeff and I have been keeping fish for about 5 years. The last 4 years have been keeping hard to keep/rare marine fish and maintaining a small polyp stony 180 gallon reef with all the bells.

2) I have done a little research here on the stickies and on youtube. (Discus Hans is only 2 hours from me)

3) My tank is a 120 4ft tank that I couldnt sell and I have always wanted a planted discus tank. It is empty at the moment but it will be filled and
the cycle started soon

4) Planted, with dirt bottom, mostly discus and a school of tetras

5) I would do a water change once a month depending on bio load and feeding regimen. I have an ro/di unit that will be used to fill the tank unless told otherwise

6) I dont want a sump so I would like some suggestions as to the type of filtration that is recommended

7) City Well water with no chloramines just Sodium hypochlorite

8) Money is not an issue so I plan on treating this tank like my reef tanks, pack as many rare and expensive fish as I can do without degrading the animals living conditions

9) I feed my reef 3 times per day: frozen and pellets(live for my predator tank)

10) With everything I get into, I do it because I love keeping fish and I LOVE a challenge so if breeding is the ultimate challenge then that is what I will probably end up doing.

Please give me some feedback, it is greatly appreciated!
PS. I will be doing a build log if your interested!?
Jeff

Cabe
02-25-2015, 05:02 PM
Since money is no issue and you are going with a planted tank, get the largest discus available. Planted tanks are very hard to use to grow out juveniles.

Solid
02-25-2015, 05:50 PM