PDA

View Full Version : Upset with my discus

drondy
03-05-2015, 01:07 PM
This is my first time raising discus and I have to admit that it was easier that I anticipated. They started at 2+ inches, four of them, and stayed in the grow out tank until they were 5+ inches. I enjoyed every minute feeding them and changing their water. They were very social and even ate out of my hand with no issue. When I came to the tank they came to me awaiting their food. Then they out grew the tank and it was time to move them to their final home, a planted 75 gallon tank which already supported some tetra tank mates. That is when it happened!!!

There social behavior went out the window. When I come in the room to feed them, they cower together in a safe place and shake their fins and start peppering (Pigeon blood). I feed them either beef heart or blood worms and they ignore it while I am in the room. This has been going on for over a month now and I am not sure what to do. The reason I got the in the first place is the enjoyment I get watching them swim gracefully around the tank. Now I am just upset that they are acting like this and it is no fun at all.

I am growing out another 4 more discus in another tank to go along with these. Maybe that will make them happy, but then again, maybe not. Am I doing something wrong? Is this typical? Help!!!

Dean

discuspaul
03-05-2015, 02:15 PM
Even though it's been a month Dean, your discus have spent the previous several months in a much smaller space, bare-bottomed - with no plants & no tank-mates. They were obviously comfortable with this.

Then with the move to a much larger space, and since they haven't previously been exposed to either a planted environment nor tank-mates, it seems that has caused them a good deal of stress.
Be patient, give them some more time to become accustomed & comfortable with their new surroundings.