PDA

View Full Version : Water parameters and changing schedule

Blademan
03-06-2015, 11:04 PM
Hi I would like to ask the advice of the members with a question, I am new to keeping discus and trying to lean as much as possible I understand that the filtration system should break down the ammonia and nitrites but the only way to remove nitrates is by changing water if ammonia is 0, and nitrites 0 but the nitrates are <5-10 PPM as in my case which I think is acceptable, and please correct me if I am wrong, is a water change really required, ie what will it actually achieve.
Just to add i test my water before I change it so I know the parameters, I am currently doing two 30% and one 50% change in my 80 gallon tank per week, I am feeding four to five times a day and my water is consistently in this range, if I lessened my water changes and the parameters stayed consistent, what is the added benefit, I am not intending to lesson my schedule just asking out of curiosity
Thanks

Lotticd
03-20-2015, 11:40 AM
Good questions i would like to see our resident experts response.....

John_Nicholson
03-20-2015, 11:49 AM
This has been beat to death more times than I can count. There is a lot more to water than just the things that you mentions. Do a search on DOC's and you will find lots of info on this site about why you need to change water if you want to grow out large, healthy fish.

-john

afriend
03-20-2015, 06:33 PM
Hi I would like to ask the advice of the members with a question, I am new to keeping discus and trying to lean as much as possible I understand that the filtration system should break down the ammonia and nitrites but the only way to remove nitrates is by changing water if ammonia is 0, and nitrites 0 but the nitrates are <5-10 PPM as in my case which I think is acceptable, and please correct me if I am wrong, is a water change really required, ie what will it actually achieve.