PDA

View Full Version : Hello! Beginner here looking for some pointers!

shadeslayer
04-03-2015, 10:53 PM
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum and a beginner to the discus fish community!

I was wondering if you could give me some advice! My tank set up:
55 gallon Aqueon aquarium
Penn Plax Cascade 1000 Canister filter (first had aqueon quiet 75 gallon)
Aqueon thermometer with separate digital temperature reader

When I had first set up my tank, I used DrTim's Aquatics One & Only Live Nitrifying Bacteria for Cycling Aquaria, FreshWater 4-Ounce and left it as is for a week. Then I introduced 1 discus and 2 Angelfish. In just 3 weeks my discus has more than doubled in size and my angelfish are active as ever! I thought great everything is going well and I added 3 more discus fish - and all three have grown as well and are healthy with a great color.

I am now having a problem with cloudy water. When I first installed my canister filter (with all the stuff that came in the box - coarse sponge, 3 fine sponge, 1 nylong bag of pro-carb), my water was crystal clear for about a week but then it started to slowly become cloudy.
I opened up my canister to see what was going on and I found bits and pieces of tropical flakes and gooey substance mixed on the coarse sponge, nylon bag.

I washed the coarse sponge and nylon bag in aquarium water, and I replaced the 3 fine sponges because it seemed too dirty.
My water still hasn't cleared up...I am wondering what I am doing wrong? Did I not cycle the tank enough?

After I cleaned my filter, there was an incident where my first discus fish jumped twice out of the water and into the hood. But now it is perfectly fine, eating well and swimming around. I do see it just hanging around my filter intake tube for a while. I had gotten scared and tested the water with my kit, and everything was ok - no dangerous ammonia levels or pH issues.

rickztahone
04-03-2015, 11:16 PM
Where were your nitrites and nitrates?

shadeslayer