PDA

View Full Version : Please help - Nitrate are high!

aklemmensen
04-10-2015, 08:01 PM
Hi guys,

My Nitrate are 40+
I have 75G tank with 15 neons, 5 Discus (1y olds that I raised from babies in 25g tank ) , and 2 sucker fish and 2 other small tetras
No plants, as I cant seem to keep them alive
I do 2 water changed a week, ~ 25%
I cant seem to be able to get my nitrate down. Please help me. I tested my tap water and its between 15-20ppm.
I went to petsmart and they told me to get some extra baggies for my canister filter (its only about 3m old) that help with nitrates and I still don't seem to catch a break.
I also keep having algie problem, but I keep the lights off most of the time and that seemed to improve greatly. Just small amount where the sun hits it (another rookie mistake). Moving the tank is in the plans, but as you can imagine not an easy task
Any advice is appreciated. Please be nice, I am new to all this
Thanks
Anya

Second Hand Pat
04-10-2015, 08:55 PM
Hi Anya, best way to remove the nitrates is to start doing daily 50% water changes. Even thru your source water has nitrates you can still cut your nitrates by half with water changes in the tank.
Pat

Keith Perkins
04-10-2015, 09:58 PM
What Pat said. Also a tip for moving the tank if you're staying on the same floor. Get a dowel rod like the one often used to hang clothes on in closets the appropriate length to be able to cut it into 6 pieces the desired length. Drain the tank down to an inch or two of water. Lift one end of the tank stand and slide two pieces of dowel under the stand, one front and back. Move to the other end of the tank and roll it forward a couple of feet and stick a couple more pieces of dowel rod under it. Repeat the process until you get the tank where you want it.

aklemmensen
04-12-2015, 12:38 AM
Thanks Guys! I also realized that I am a dummy- the nitro-zorb pouches I got need to be recharged...Geesh! I feel bad. Just ordered more on Amazon and will start this over.