PDA

View Full Version : Is this case of external parasite?

shadeslayer
05-04-2015, 10:59 AM
One of my discus seems to be breathing from only one side.

If this is, how can I treat it?

Please let me know

https://youtu.be/Miz6aFibqCQ

Solid
05-04-2015, 11:36 AM
Your best bet to get a good answer would be to fill out this questionaire and post the answers to the "Emergency Room" Section of the forum.
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?38545-Disease-Questionnaire-please-complete

Honestly I am not very good with medications so hopefully someone else can give you advice. If it was me, I would start with increasing my water changes, make sure the fish has pristine water. As it appears you might have gill flukes, I would try Prazipro or a praziquantel based medication. It is good for flukes and is very mild on the fish.

shadeslayer
05-04-2015, 12:24 PM
Thank you Solid!

This problem started last week.
I had made this post, same parameters still stand
http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?119627-Help!-Asap!

I had moved the 2 angelfish to quarantine and both unfortunately died after 3 days. 1 more angelfish is still in the quarantine tank, hopefully he will be ok.

Petland Discounts told me to use Melafix so that's all I've been using

Solid
05-04-2015, 12:59 PM
Again I am inexperienced with medications and I cant post in the emergency room section yet, so please take any of my recommendations with a grain of salt. I don't know about Melafix, but I have heard it is next to useless. I almost always treat sick fish with clean water and a few days time, and it has worked 95% of the time for me. I have been lucky. I have used Prazipro and Metronidazole when clean water and time didn't work.