PDA

View Full Version : Beginner with question on cycling tank

scottjensen
05-23-2015, 05:15 PM
Hey All,
I am new to SD but I have done a lot of reading here. I have a 90 gallon bare bottom tank that I am cycling. I started it with a fishless cycle and after about eight weeks of nothing happening i added a few angle fish for something to look at. After nine weeks I finally started seeing nitrites. In the last couple of weeks I have done two 50% water changes because the nitrites have shot up to 5.0. It wasn't until today about 11 or 12 weeks in that i finally tested and I have nitrates. My water tests Ammonia 2.0 Nitrites 4.0-5.0 Nitrates 5.0. My question is should I do another water change because my nitrites are so high or does this mess with the cycle?

Twistofer
05-23-2015, 05:46 PM
It might help to know about your filtration and what else is in the tank. IMO the nitrifying bacteria need something to latch onto, so hopefully you have something in your filter on which the bacteria can grow. It does seem like a long time for your tank to cycle.

scottjensen
05-23-2015, 06:53 PM
That's what I thought. I have a 30 gal. sump with drip tray raining on two 3 in. pieces of poret foam and a filter pad on top of the foam. I have a piece of poret foam separating about a fourth of the tank with k-1 media circulating with 4 air stones.

Kyla
05-24-2015, 01:07 AM
what were you using for your fishless cycle? pure ammonia?

just to clarify, you need to add a source of ammonia to an empty tank for the BB to grow and feed on... from your post it seems you werent adding anything and thus when u put the fish in ur parameters spiked? iay have just read it wrong tho...

if there are fish in your cycling tank i would be doing large wc everyday... those levels will be harming the fish... it may slow the cycle but it will save the angels...

scottjensen
05-24-2015, 09:43 AM