PDA

View Full Version : Aquaclear Level...

Phillydubs
06-03-2015, 09:22 AM
Hey all you aqua clear users... I have been running a 110 in my tank for a few months now. At first this thing was as quiet as can be, no issues... Lately it seems to be a tad noisy and the small level piece on the bottom keeps popping off. I don't want to not bere here one day and it pops off or god forbid worse falls off and breaks or drains the tank in some way...

Any of you have this issue? Do I even need this level piece on it? The flow seems good and steady... I do filter maintenance once a week, pull it apart scrub it, rinse the media in tank water etc. I'm going to pull it apart today and see what the story is... Just curious if anyone else has similar issues or other feedback...

DISCUS STU
06-03-2015, 10:19 AM
Yes, I've either set the level too low or had the same issue anyway. I use a plastic cap, or something similar, and it wedge it in between the filter and the tank. It stays by gravity and friction. I suppose I could use a super glue to make it more permanent.

Good idea to perform regular maintenance. These filters have a nasty habit of not restarting if there's any type of power flux as they coated with filter gunk.

I lost all the Discus in a 90 gal. one summer while I was away when this happened and I was using it as the only source of aeration. Even though I had canisters running, all the Discus suffocated. The smell was unbelievable. I learned a few valuable lessons from this. The first being to always run airstones!

Braydon00
06-03-2015, 10:26 AM
I usually always use the level on the filter. I think it helps with the flow rate as well as keeps the water from spilling out the back if it gets clogged. I think you can get a replacement off amazon, or you can make one yourself by sticking something behind it. I did that with my aqua clear 70 and works pretty well.

jmf3460
06-03-2015, 12:02 PM