PDA

View Full Version : Two Questions about Food

SwagFish
06-05-2015, 02:42 PM
Hey Simply,
I am Andy and am starting to get into the discus hobby. I have been doing a lot of research on discus for a good 7 months give or take a little. I am now ready to purchase some discus but I before that I need to get some questions about food out of the way.

First: I know many of you make your own beef heart mixes but to those who buy pre-made beef heart mix: Who do you recommend I buy from? I would make my own beef heart mix but I don't think my Mom would like it very much if I used her prized kitchen appliances for mixing fish food lol. I have looked around and seen Han's mix has gotten good reviews on Simply. I will probably end up buying from him but where do others buy their pre-made beef heart mixes from?

Second: About feeding discus fry... I have seen on http://www.brineshrimpdirect.com/ the Decapsulated (Non-Hatching)Brine Shrimp Eggs and was wondering if anyone has tried feeding this to discus fry in lieu of regular BBS. According to their site the Decapsulated (Non-Hatching)Brine Shrimp Eggs are basically just embryos of brine shrimp which are full of all the nutrients and because the shrimp never hatched there are more nutrients in the Decapsulated (Non-Hatching)Brine Shrimp Eggs than in regular BBS with yolk sacks. So I was wondering cause wouldn’t it be better and more convenient to feed the Decapsulated (Non-Hatching)Brine Shrimp Eggs than the BBS? Or is there really that much of a benefit from the movement of the BBS?

Thanks! And to Mods I hope it is alright that I put two question in one thread I don’t really know if I should have put these into two different threads.
-Andy

alron2
06-05-2015, 04:41 PM
Andy,