PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to discus

Anthonyjm
06-19-2015, 11:16 PM
I order 4 2.5" discus from Hans and I'm wondering and doing some research that when shipping the bags gain ammonia and when opening the bag it makes it toxic so I have read that Instead of dripping them just put them in the aquarium with the bag to get use to the water temp and then drop and plop them.
Ok a lot of opinions are helpful right about now thanks all !! 👍👍

warblad79
06-20-2015, 01:12 AM
In my experienced I don't put the water in the tank because they are dirty. I just plop the fish after acclimated so far none of my fish died in this process.

miguelnight
06-20-2015, 01:33 AM
Everyone acclimates their fish a little different. I normally empty half the water in the shipping bag. I put a cup of my aquarium water in the bag while it's floating in my aquarium for 8 minutes--put another cup in 8 minutes later--and another cup in 8 minutes later (24 minutes total). I net the fish out, then plop it in my tank. I ensure my aquarium lights are turned off to further reduce fish stress. I've never had a problem with this process. This is my method--everyone does it a little different. Good luck!

LizStreithorst
06-20-2015, 08:03 AM
I order 4 2.5" discus from Hans and I'm wondering and doing some research that when shipping the bags gain ammonia and when opening the bag it makes it toxic so I have read that Instead of dripping them just put them in the aquarium with the bag to get use to the water temp and then drop and plop them.
Ok a lot of opinions are helpful right about now thanks all !! ����

That's how I do it and also how Hansie does it.

DiscusRob
06-20-2015, 11:07 AM
That's how I do it and also how Hansie does it.

+1

rickztahone
06-20-2015, 12:39 PM
Adjust temp by floating, cut the top of the bag and stick your hand in there and grab the discus. No bag water in the tank

Patrick84
06-20-2015, 07:48 PM