PDA

View Full Version : Really sick discus

alex21
08-08-2015, 01:06 PM
Hi , I'm relatively new to keeping discus (6 months) though I have kept dwarfs for a while.
My first discus was a breeding pair of turqs which I've bred a few times now but in the last week my big
Male has just got sicker and sicker he stopped eating went very dark and swims funny, his eyes have also become sunken, I've moved them to a smaller 60 litre with a sponge filter to try and sort them out but I've had absolutely no joy , I've tried solupraz/fluke solve and when that didn't work the aquacare fluke& wormer but I've had very little improvement, he did at one stage grab hold of a bloodworm cube but he just spat out most if not all , so I was wondering if anyone with some more experience would try and help me get him back to health ? He's around 8 inches the tank is 60 litre with a sponge filter , kept at 28'c and water changed with 25 litre of water a day which is the same temperature as that coming out, the water I use is reminrilised RO the minerals are pro tropic discus , I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance.

Alex

alex21
08-08-2015, 01:13 PM

Here is a couple of photos 😕

donnacona
08-09-2015, 09:45 AM
You might think I'm crazy
If the fish is still alive.
This worked for me and you have nothing to loose do a 50% water change then dissolve 3/4 of a cup of sea salt and add to (60 liter) tank for three days.
After three days and if the fish is ok then do water change but if not and the fish is not better then leave the salt another day or two.
I had to leave the salt in my tank for an extra two days which makes 5 days to completely cure my fish.
But like I said it is up to you.
Let me know how it turns out.
Stu

MadMatt
08-09-2015, 10:08 AM
Please do NOT do this:

This worked for me and you have nothing to loose do a 50% water change then dissolve 3/4 of a cup of sea salt and add to (60 liter) tank for three days.