PDA

View Full Version : ornaments and fake plants with discus?

cedar
08-24-2015, 11:18 PM
Hi everyone,
I am just wondering what the general opinion is of silk plants and decorations in a discus tank. I am new to this and have been looking at a lot of your pictures and I see some of both. Are silk plants a problem,? I have a small bit of sand on the bottom for the cory cats and some decorative rocks and silk plants.I also have a background that came with the tank. Is that a problem? I'm not sure about how clean the background needs to be for discus. I do wc everyday. at least 25% from a barrel of aired ro water. I mix some tap in the tank.It is a 90g tall with 13 juveniles.any advice would be appreciated. sue

DISCUS STU
08-26-2015, 10:17 AM
Can you send a picture?

pgrhodes1
08-26-2015, 12:07 PM
Hi Sue,

I have sand, driftwood, and silk plants in my tank. I wash the plants in bleach then rinse with Prime when needed. Works out GREAT!!

cedar
08-27-2015, 12:16 AM
ok, thanks for the info,89469 here is a picture of my discus tank. I have 14 discus less than a year old in my 90g .:)

cedar
08-27-2015, 12:17 AM
sorry about the sideways pic...I don't know why it did that,

Keith Perkins
08-27-2015, 06:59 AM
I've have driftwood in the occasional tank and I've had silk plants in the past, neither of those is a problem. Personally when my plants needed cleaning I put them in the dishwasher by themselves without any soap and they came out very good. The key there is making sure your spouse isn't home when you do it. :)

bluelagoon
08-27-2015, 09:18 AM
Nice background.I'm like Oprah Winfrey when it comes to fake plants.
Personally,I"d take them out.
To me they look odd.

Altum Nut
08-27-2015, 10:01 AM
To me it's plain and simple...if what you put in tank is safe which in this case it is and does not interfere with your tank maintenance then go for it. As with maintenance to regularly wipe the inside glass sides, any added artificial ornaments will also require cleaning.