PDA

View Full Version : From My Mouth To Your Ears!! - Crazy/Fun/Wild Stories...

Phillydubs
09-24-2015, 04:44 PM
So, I hate to jinx myself or cause an un-needed hex, but I wanted to say something and maybe start a fun post...

I have been wanting to once again re-hash the power of water changes and clean water to all the newbies on here or maybe even the old heads who are still trying to find ways to skate around them or outsmart them! IT DOESN'T WORK!!!

I am by no means an expert, I do not breed fish, I don't claim to know it all and the things I do know are because of this forum and the amazing, helpful and great people that are here... I have been keeping discus for over 4 years now and I made the same mistakes as everyone else... You name it I prob did it, or worse... I have purchased from the LFS (before I even knew what this site was), tinkered with PH, didn't do daily WC, added bad tank mates, etc... The list goes on and on and on... As I sit here and write this, my tank behind me in my office, over crowded for sure, yet clean, healthy and thriving... Why? Because I break my back to change the water at least 4-5 times a week if not more!!

I can't stress enough to all of you out there how much this will alleviate most of your stress and issues, this one simple, mundane, yet quite easy task once you have it down pat.

Now, that being said... I read a post earlier where someone simply said, when raising fry you can't go on vacation... I chuckled to myself at first, but then I realized the seriousness of it and truth behind it. It got me to thinking, what have you done that might come off or seem so crazy, weird, silly or odd to others yet you know all of us Discus Fanatics here would agree and say I get it or I did that too! For instances, skipping out on a trip or something for water changes, monitoring a hospital tank for hours on end with a sick one, we have seen the "nanny cam" set ups before to watch them when we are away...